Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing – My Hymn Playlist

pexels-photo-250695.jpeg

I love hymns. There is something about the richness of their melodies, the depth of the lines and the spirit of the songs that just makes me want to ascend the heavens. They are what someone called “the wells our fathers dug.”

Music is so powerful; it has a way of drawing us into its source and direction; so it is important for us as believers to fill our hearts and minds with songs that edify.

“speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord,” (Ephesians 5:19 – NIV)

Another thing about hymns is that they draw you to pray. Sometimes when I want to pray and can’t seem to find the ‘vibe’, I just sing songs, particularly hymns and before long, prayer just flows out. Hymns have a way of keeping your eyes on what really matters: God, His Love, the Cross and His eternal purpose.

It is just so sad that we are a generation of liberals that have lost the richness of this old and spirit enriching Christian culture. And for a while now, I’ve been getting promptings to start a playlist of hymns. So, I’ll be sharing some of my favorite hymns with you.

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

You can find the song here.

Lyrics

  1. Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;

Streams of mercy, never ceasing,

Call for songs of loudest praise.

Teach me some melodious sonnet,

Sung by flaming tongues above.

Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it,

Mount of Thy redeeming love.

.
2. Here I raise my Ebenezer;

Hither by Thy help I’m come;

And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,

Safely to arrive at home.

Jesus sought me when a stranger,

Wandering from the fold of God;

He, to rescue me from danger,

Interposed His precious blood.

.
3. O that day when freed from sinning,

I shall see Thy lovely face;

Clothed then in blood washed linen

How I’ll sing Thy sovereign grace;

Come, my Lord, no longer tarry,

Take my ransomed soul away;

Send thine angels now to carry

Me to realms of endless day.

.
4. O to grace how great a debtor

Daily I’m constrained to be!

Let that grace now like a fetter,

Bind my wandering heart to Thee.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,

Prone to leave the God I love;

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,

Seal it for Thy courts above.

.
Composer:

Robert Robinson

.

What it means to me:

This song has a lot of deep meanings but its central theme is on divine grace and total salvation of the soul (Soteria). It speaks of the struggles of the soul and how Christ is our redemption – seeking the lost, wandering soul. It sings of the wondrous grace of God and laced through every line is a soul recognizing Hod as its help and calling for the help of the ‘fount of every blessing’ to release it from flesh, sin and the struggles within.

Stanza 1

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,

God is compared to a fountain. His is an ever flowing fountain of every blessing. He is a good God with so much blessings. And then a prayer:

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;

Per second, per hour, I want Christ to tune my heart to sing His grace. I want Him to move me to the rhythms of His grace. As a guitarist, I know the unpleasantness of an un-tuned guitar. It is a real nuisance. But a tuned guitar is a delight. And it is only in-tune I can praise the mount of His redeeming love. So, God has to tune me away from other things, secure my heart’s frequency to focus on His grace.

Stanza 2:

Here I raise my Ebenezer;

Hither by Thy help I’m come;

In 1 Samuel 7, when God delivered the Israelites from the Philistines, Samuel set up a stone and named it Ebenezer saying “Thus far the Lord has helped us”. So for the hymn writer to say ‘I raise my Ebenezer”, it means He was acknowledging God’s help. God has been our help all along, even when as a wandering stranger, we didn’t know it. And it is by His help still that we would make it home to Him.

Stanza 3:

O that day when freed from sinning,

I shall see Thy lovely face;

Clothed then in blood washed linen

How I’ll sing Thy sovereign grace;

Oh, how I long to see His face! The one who sought me when as a stranger I wandered! My Ebenezer! The Lord my redeemer and great help! And even now, while you tarry and I wait for You, I will rise to realms of Your glory, I will seek your presence all my days.

Stanza 4:

O to grace how great a debtor

Daily I’m constrained to be!

I am indebted to grace. Daily, I look at the benefits He loads me with and see that I cannot do anything else but give my life for Him. I am a debtor. And I don’t just look at the grace of God and nod my head. I see them as debts that though I can never fully pay, but that I must pay as much as that same grace enables me.

Everything about our lives is hinged on grace, even to receive grace, we need grace. And through that same grace, may my wandering heart be bound to Christ forever.

I particularly like the line:

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,

Seal it for Thy courts above.

I want that.

I want Christ to seal me completely as His, to make my heart a permanent place for His dwelling, a possession, a place for “His courts above”. I want Him to stamp His seal upon me and secure me tightly in His arms that we may never be apart; that everything that would keep us separate be burned away completely. That He alone be the King of my heart.

Forever.

Amen.

.

Side Note:

What do you think ? Please comment if you know the hymn and what it means to you. Also share so others can be blessed.

God’s GRACE!

2 thoughts on “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing – My Hymn Playlist

Leave a Reply

