​Don’t be such a chicken!

I had been staring at it for a while.

The chick roamed about in confusion through the dry gutter. It’s fluffy, white feathers ruffled gently in the early morning air as it did a confused version of a runway parade. Except, it would strut from one end to the other making chirping sounds as it did.

The gutter stretched farther than my eyes could see and I knew there was no how it could get out. At some point, it would pause and look up at the top of the gutter, which must look like the wall of China to it’s myopic eyes, and chirp loudly.

This little animal had lost it’s mother.

And I felt a silent compassion for it, for how lost and scared it must feel. After watching it for so long, I decided to put it out of its misery. I inched closer to where it was currently performing its rythmnless dance and tried to pick it up and at least help its cause. And brothers and sisters, you will not believe was this silly critter did.

It RAN away.

I was like, “C’mon, I just want to help you!”

My sister laughed at me as I mumbled at this animal’s foolishness. I knew the chick’s reaction was expected but it didn’t take away the feeling of puzzlement, frustration and maybe a little hurt (for the chick) I felt. And immediately the words tumbled out of my lips, I could almost hear God saying, “Aha! Now you know how I feel.”

And I understood.

A lot of times, we are like that chick. We parade restlessly in our confusion and pain, we seek for meaning and love. And while we are in the gutter of our problems, surrounded by walls of despair, here is God standing and reaching to us, trying in love to draw us out of our mess. But we run away from God. We scuttle away from His loving arms.

“Never! Can a mother forget her little child and not have love for her own son? Yet even if that should be, I will not forget you. See, I have tattooed your name upon my palm, and ever before me is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.” Isaiah 49:15-16 (Living Bible)

In a way, the world and religion has painted for us a God that is unreachable, mean and just plain indifferent to us. To us, God is the enemy. The enemy of our comfort, enemy of our pleasure, enemy of our freedom, enemy of our happiness. So, we find it hard to surrender to His loving arms because we are scared of God.

There is a difference between the fear of God and being scared of God. And most times, we are scared of God. We are scared of drawing close because we have this disturbed and distorted view of what God’s will is.

I’m sure that chick had been told several times by its mother, “Those humans, anytime you see them, run, you hear me? Run away!” And so also, our flesh, the devil, the world have taught us to run from God. They tell, ‘if you want to have fun, if you want to be free, just leave God out of it.’ It may not be spoken so directly, but the thought is there, the lie is there deep in every one of us. That tendency to go our own way because we don’t trust God.

“My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water.” – Jeremiah 2:13 (NIV) 

And yes, it is true that God will bring a stripping of what we are comfortable with but oh, what a beautiful stripping! What freedom! That thing you call ‘fun’ is actually the snare. It is what God wants to free you from. But like that silly chick, we don’t see what He does, so we take to our heels.

A child thinks fire is ‘pretty’.

A mad man thinks refuse is delicious.

A kid thinks sand is nutritious.

But it takes a sane adult to look at that child, that madman and say, ‘No, darling. That will hurt you.’ But the child doesn’t think so, the child may think mummy is being strict and will secretly go back to those things, hurting herself.

What am I saying? Stop running away from God! He is not your enemy. He actually wants to save you from the enemy. It hurts God when He tries to help us, to love us and we run away from Him. Stop long enough to be caught by Him. Reach for the one reaching for you. Whether you are born again or not, stop running! If are not born again yet, surrender to Him, He loves you. If you are, ALLOW Him. He will not land you in a wrong place I promise you. Surrender. Trust Him, He knows what He’s doing. His plan for you is better than any laid out strategy you have carefully designed for yourself. The Creator of the Universe has to know better than you!

And so, as I stood staring wistfully at that little chick stuttering off on tiny, weak legs, I realized how really foolish I can be sometimes, how very misguided. I realized how much I needed to strip myself of every wrong understanding, every lie I have acquired about God – from the world, from sin, from the devil, from religion, from well-meaning friends and family etc.

May God help us reach for Him reaching for us.

Side Note:

I don’t know what happened to that chick afterwards. Stop asking me. -__-

Hope you are having a Christ-filled 2017?

And oh,  remember to share this if it blessed you.

God’s grace!

Leave a Reply

